Where GOP senators stand on objecting to Electoral College v…

Washington — The joint session of Congress scheduled to occur Wednesday for the counting and certifying of Electoral College votes is set to be marked by high drama, as Republicans in the House and Senate have pledged to challenge the results from several battleground states.

A group of at least 12 Republican senators have said they, along with more than 100 GOP House members, will object to the electoral votes cast in key states, charging their elections were rife with fraud despite no widespread evidence. But as the joint session nears, a growing number of Republican senators are breaking with their colleagues and plan not to sign on to their challenges.

Required under the Constitution, the event has in the past been perfunctory — in 2017, the process of reading and tallying electoral votes spanned 41 minutes, and in 2013, the joint session lasted just 23 minutes, according to a report from the Congressional Research Service.

While the objections are not going to result in a change in the outcome of the election, it will prolong the process by which Congress affirms President-elect Joe Biden’s victory. When the House and Senate separate to debate and vote on an objection, they have up to two hours to consider it, meaning the joint session is likely to stretch well into the night.

The joint session is typically a formality, but this year’s event will force Republicans to decide whether to back President Trump in his attempts to reverse the outcome of the election or uphold the votes cast by millions of Americans.

Here is where Republican senators stand, as of Monday morning:

Oppose the counting of electoral votes

  1. Marsha Blackburn of Tennessee
  2. Mike Braun of Indiana
  3. Ted Cruz of Texas
  4. Steve Daines of Montana
  5. Bill Hagerty of Tennessee
  6. Josh Hawley of Missouri
  7. Ron Johnson of Wisconsin
  8. John Kennedy of Louisiana
  9. James Lankford of Oklahoma
  10. Cynthia Lummis of Wyoming
  11. Roger Marshall of Kansas
  12. Tommy Tuberville of Alabama

Support the counting of electoral votes

  1. Roy Blunt of Missouri
  2. Richard Burr of North Carolina
  3. Shelley Moore Capito of West Virginia
  4. Bill Cassidy of Louisiana
  5. Kevin Cramer of North Dakota
  6. Susan Collins of Maine
  7. John Cornyn of Texas
  8. Tom Cotton of Arkansas
  9. Lisa Murkowski of Alaska
  10. Mitt Romney of Utah
  11. Ben Sasse of Nebraska
  12. Richard Shelby of Alabama
  13. John Thune of South Dakota
  14. Pat Toomey of Pennsylvania
  15. Roger Wicker of Mississippi


Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell — Previously discouraged Republican members for objecting, and last week called the upcoming vote “the most consequential vote” he will cast.

  1. John Barrasso of Wyoming
  2. John Boozman of Arkansas
  3. Mike Crapo of Idaho
  4. Joni Ernst of Iowa
  5. Deb Fischer of Nebraska
  6. Lindsey Graham of South Carolina
  7. Chuck Grassley of Iowa
  8. John Hoeven of North Dakota
  9. Cindy Hyde-Smith of Mississippi
  10. Jim Inhofe of Oklahoma
  11. Mike Lee of Utah
  12. Kelly Loeffler of Georgia
  13. Jerry Moran of Kansas
  14. Rand Paul of Kentucky
  15. Rob Portman of Ohio
  16. Jim Risch of Idaho
  17. Mike Rounds of South Dakota
  18. Marco Rubio of Florida
  19. Rick Scott of Florida
  20. Tim Scott of South Carolina
  21. Dan Sullivan of Alaska
  22. Thom Tillis of North Carolina
  23. Todd Young of Indiana

Credit To:

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button